Excel Grades Q&A
February 2024

GENERAL

Connection or sequence of elements with a single VM assigned. There are a few instances in the guide
where this exists, mainly some Beam connections and some Floor acro lines and one example on Bars
(Excel 1)

Guiding principle: Gymnast must attempt the whole connection or sequence of elements described

(regardless of completion or performance level) to avoid the penalty for Omission.
e.g. split handstand to flic (Excel 1 Beam) — gymnast performs only the handstand or performs only the flic
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Lose VM from D score
Penalty of 1.00 for Omission
Not eligible for ‘all requirements met’ bonus

If a gymnast doesn’t compete excel 1, can they compete in FIG development 1 in the second half of
the year?
See WTC Update 34

Can the 0.50 bonus for ‘all requirements met’ be awarded even if the gymnast has a fall during the
routine?

Yes, this bonus can be awarded. Bonus’ for specific elements can only be awarded if that element is
performed without a fall.

Where is the line drawn between complete omission of an element performed versus incomplete
element?

Incomplete — a clear attempt has been made to perform the element/sequence but the performance
was not completed as required e.g. full twisting salto landing with only %4 of the twist performed.

When will pass marks be decided?

This is likely to be decided after the National event has taken place for Excel 3, however, the NC will
be looking at the scores from regional events. To allow for this, the top 4 gymnast in the regional at
Excel 2 will all go to National finals.

What is the deduction if the elements are performed in the incorrect order within a set exercise?
0.50 — the guide has been updated to reflect this.

Can the D panel tell the gymnasts where to restart following a fall?
On R&C the D panel can, but other apparatus only the coach can advise the gymnast

Are the FIG artistry deductions applied as well as the artistry deductions listed in the guide?
No, the only artistry deductions to be applied are those stated in the guide.

What is the deduction if the gymnast completely misses a section of set dance?
1.00 — once only if a substantial section of the set dance is missed, e.g. sideways dance.

Will coaches be given a listed of elements that could be substituted?
No. The grades have set elements, substituted element penalties exist in case gymnasts make a
mistake on the day.

When results are sent to competition organiser, would you like the bonus and penalties to be shown
separately?
Not essential, but if possible please show/provide bonuses given, penalties not required.



BARS - Excel 2

Q: What is the penalty for not dismounting away from LB?

A: 0.3, the guide has been updated to reflect this

Q: Regarding the execution bonus given for the E deductions being less than 1.5 (or 2.0). Is this given
regardless of routine content or does the gymnast have to fulfil all CRs? e.g. can a gymnast receive a
substitution deduction or an omission deduction and still receive the execution bonus?

A: Bonus only awarded if all CRs are fulfilled and no other penalty applied. The guide has been updated
to reflect this. This also applied to Excel 3

BARS - Excel 3

Q: If the gymnast performs a toe on, toe on "% that finishes in handstand (instead of a giant %) will she
receive the bonus for the consecutive close bar element as well as the bonus for the for element
finishing within 30° of handstand?

A:  Yes

Q: Is it possible to have a diagram for handstand?

A:  Yes, a diagram has been added to the guide

BEAM - General

20 =20

> 0 Z0

Can the choreography for beam be used in voluntary routines as well?
Yes.

On beam, where it says ‘no arm swings’, what does this look like and what parameters should we use
to judge this?

The arms can swing into the first element, but the arms stay in the same place from the landing of the
first element into the second element.

Are pauses and adjustments deducted in addition to the artistry sheets for each specific grade?
Yes, because these are specific apparatus deductions.

Are the lack of relevé deductions taken each time?
No, lack of relevé deduction is applied once in the whole routine and you can deduct a total of 0.10,
0.20 or 0.30.

BEAM - Excel 1
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What happens if the sideways dance is not performed facing the judges?
The guide has been updated to “recommended”.

Split handstand into flic - doesn't state if the handstand has to be held
Both legs at horizontal in split position, no hold necessary.

If split h/s not reached, is this example of performed but incomplete?
Yes, — 0.50 from D score & no bonus awarded.

If the handstand flic is performed but the with feet not landing on Beam on the flic?
The gymnast would need to repeat the flic to receive the VM, the gymnast would have a 1.00 fall
applied and would also have a 0.5 SB and no bonus can be awarded for all requirements being met.

If flic performed but no handstand. Is this complete omission?
Yes, — 1.00 Omission penalty + 0.5 from D score & no bonus can be awarded for all requirements
being met.



BEAM - Excel 1 (continued)

Q: If the gymnast performs a back walkover into flic instead?

A:  Yes, — 0.5 substitution penalty + 0.5 from D score & no bonus can be awarded for all requirements
being met.

Q: If the gymnast doesn't finish the spin in relevé, it this an incomplete move?

A: No, this is a lack of relevé.

Q: Excel 1 —1Is the bonus for 180° split for dance element only or can the split handstand be included

A: Leaps and jumps only, the guide has been updated to reflect this.

Q: If the mount doesn’t hold, what is the deduction?

A:  Only deduct per the text. This would be a D panel so E panel have no deductions to take. If there is
no hold deduction listed, then no deduction can be applied.

BEAM - Excel 2

Q: What happens if the sideways dance is not performed facing the judges?

A: The guide has been updated

Q: Ifin 18t element of acro series feet not landing on Beam, do they get opportunity to repeat first
element? How do you then judge this?

A: Inthis instance the first element has no value, so as per FIG the element has not been recognised, so
the gymnast is able to attempt the entire series again.

Q: Ifin 1t element of acro series feet not landing on Beam, they get up and perform second element —
how do you judge this?

A:  If 24 element completed then lose VM of 15t element and no bonus for all requirements met

Q: If round off tuck back salto DMT? Substitution?

A:  Yes, — 0.5 substitution penalty + 0.5 from D score & no bonus can be awarded for all requirements
being met.

Q: If the mount doesn’t hold, what is the deduction?

A:  Only deduct per the text. This would be a D panel so E panel have no deductions to take. If there is
no hold deduction listed, then no deduction can be applied.

Q: Can the straddle jump be done in the side position? (%4 turn into it, ¥4 turn back)?

A: No —it must be done along the beam

Q: Can the gymnast walk to their starting position for performing the DMT if they don’t require the entire
length of the beam to do it

A:  Yes, but the steps to get there must be done artistically — on relevé, arms tight & square etc.

BEAM - Excel 3

Q: Spin into hop — do they step into the hop, or take off from the leg used to spin with a demi plie?

A: Free leg steps into the hop

Q: If agymnast performs 3 flics for the acro, can they then perform another 2 flic to one into the dismount
and receive bonus for this?

A:  Yes



FLOOR - Excel 1
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Can we use the Excel 1 floor music for competitions in the year before and for FIG Development 1 at
the end of the year?

Yes, the music can be used by gymnasts prior to entering Excel 1 and for the FIG Development
competition at the end of the year of competing Excel 1 if desired.

The video shows arms after the front somi up by ears, hurdle step handspring, is there a deduction for
arms down as in previous compulsories. In the past it has stipulated where the arms have to be.

If there is nothing specified in the text, then no deduction will be made for arm position. The arms only
have to be up for the hurdle and throughout the front handsprings and rebound jump

Can the gymnast start on the other leg?
Yes

FLOOR - Excel 2
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If gymnast performs round off 2 flics tuck back instead of round off 3 flics tuck back, is this classed as
an omission or incomplete?

This sequence is given one value in the guide so based on our ‘guiding principle’ in these situations.
Therefore, Omission penalty, lose VM and not eligible for all requirements met bonus.

What is the deduction for doing the acro lines in the incorrect order?
0.50, the guide has been updated to reflect this. Also applies to Excel 3

RANGE & CONDITIONING - General

Q:
A:

What deductions are to be taken if the gymnast wobbles, or has bent legs in the dance section of the
routine?
Yes, the guide has been updated to reflect this

RANGE & CONDITIONING - Excel Grade 3

Q:
A:

Is there a deduction for using your hands when sliding into splits?
Yes, 0.30, the guide has been updated to reflect this



